Team State Championships

1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1986, 2009, 2014

State Runner-Ups

2008, 2010, 2012, 2013

Region / Divisonal Titles

1959, 1960, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1975 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1986, 1989, 2001, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

Monday, February 9, 2015

2015 1A Southern Divisional Tournament (Regions 19&20)

1A Southern Divisional held at Monticello High School 

Individual Champions:
113- Brayson Wilcox
120- Shandon Bradford
126- Zac Musselman
145- Brandon Musselman
152- Cole Eldredge
HWT- Parker Knudsen

Outstanding Wrestler upper weights: Cole Eldredge
Coach of the Year Regions 19 & 20: Kent Adair

 1A Southern Divisional Champions for the 9th straight time

Junior High 1A,2A,3A, State

The Junior High Wrestling Team participated in the 1-2-3A State. JH wrestlers are up against all three classifications to earn the title and at the same time looking for a classification team trophy. going up against some of the bigger 3A schools is great experience for the Buckaroos win or lose. The JH Buckaroos took 20 kids to the tourney and placed 7 individual along with taking 3rd in the 1A team race.

Individual Placers:
(Top L-R)
Eric Montague 5th, Kayden Draper 6th, Gage Wilcox 132 pound State Champion, Dillan Wheeler 100 pound State Runner-Up.
(Bottom L-R)
Steven Robinson 5th, Mark Beh 6th, Tuff Adair 5th.

Monday, January 19, 2015

2015 Rockwell Rumble

My Rumble Wrap Up. 

The Rockwell Rumble has not only become a premier wrestling tourney in Utah but in the West. Teams from Washington, Idaho, Wyoming, Nevada, Colorado, and of course Utah Travel to UVU to take part. The tournament brings in multiple time State Champs as well as Fargo and other Premier tournament winners and participants. If you want to test yourself against the best this is the tournament.
The Buckaroos have been going to this event since 2006 and it has grown better and better every year. The Rumble features 64 man brackets and places the top 8 wrestlers in each weight. It is a sight to see and experience watching 12 mats to start off with it is any wrestling fans dream.
In years past the Buckaroos have found it a daunting task to get to the placing rounds due to the fierce competition in every round. To place at the Rumble you have to compete every match.
Here are some of the past placers at the Rumble:
2014- Cole Eldredge and Austin Wilcox both came away with 5th
2013- Brandon Musselman placed 7th
2011- Coltan Musselman placed 8th
2008- Aaron Butler placed 4th
2007- Aaron Butler placed 4th
2006- Aaron Butler placed 4th
Wade Eldredge placed 5th
Krieg Adair placed 3rd
This year the Buckaroos placed 4 Wrestlers.
2015- Shandon Bradford 7th
Brandon Musselman 7th
Zac Musselman 5th
Cole Eldredge 5th
The highest the Team has ever placed was in 2006 coming away with 18th place this year the Buckaroos placed 24th which is the best they have done since 2006. A total of 71 teams were represented this year.
Freshman Brayson Wilcox made a run at the medal round winning a thrilling sudden victory only to come up short the next match and miss the medals by two wins. You can bet Wilcox will be even more hungry next year. With both Shandon and Zac returning next year as well as other very talented underclassman it will be exciting to see what the Buckaroos can do.

Speaking of the younger Buckaroos they competed in the JV Rumble this weekend. Don't let the JV in the title fool you. It is a tough tourney in its own right. Three Buckaroos came away with Medals but more important experience.

106 - Brandin Clark
120 - Tyler Draper placed 5th
132 - Spencer Squires
132 - Paul De Anda
138 - Clayton Westcott
145 - Thomas Anderson
145 - Justin Cecil
152 - Tacovi Warren
170 - Dustin Christensen placed 6th
195 - Seamis Barrell
285 - Parker Knudsen placed 3rd

As a Team they placed 16th out of 38.
Good Job Buckaroos!!

2015 All-Stars

Brandon Musselman (Senior), Brayson Wilcox (Freshman), 
Shandon Bradford (Sophomore), Cole Eldredge (Senior)
1A Utah All-star Team Results
The 1A comes away from tonight's All-Star Dual winning only 1 match out of the 14. Tough sledding for the 1A kids coming off a long break. 

106: David VanTassel (Duchesne) Coby Vandertoolen (Wildcard) won by decision over David VanTassell (1A) (Dec 8-3)

113: Brayson Wilcox (Monticello)
Drew Hansen (3A) won by decision over Brayson Wilcox (1A) (Dec 4-3)

120: Shandon Bradford (Monticello)
Kyson Levin (5A) won by fall over Shandon Bradford (1A) (Fall 3:18)

126: Brady Farnsworth (Altamont)
Josh Jensen (3A) won by major decision over Brady Farnsworth (1A) (MD 10-2)

132: Austin Trapp (Piute)
Jed Loveless (Wildcard) won by decision over Austin Trapp (1A) (Dec 8-3)

138: Zach Allen (Piute)
Lukas Erickson (Wildcard) won by major decision over Zach Allen (1A) (MD 14-4)

145: Brandon Musselman (Monticello)
Cameron Killian (4A) won by decision over Brandon Musselman (1A) (Dec 7-0)

152: Cole Eldredge (Monticello)
Johnny O`Hearon (4A) won by decision over Cole Eldredge (1A) (Dec 10-3)

160: Preston Stephenson (Wayne)
Spencer Heywood (4A) won by decision over Preston Stephenson (1A) (Dec 5-3)

170: Derrik Thompson (Altamont)
Dallin Brooks (Wildcard) won by decision over Derrik Thompson (1A) (Dec 6-0)

182: Riley Foy (Altamont)
Rylee Foy (1A) won by fall over Will Lang (5A) (Fall 2:27)

195: Cody Mitchell (Altamont)
Brandon Closson (5A) won by major decision over Cody Mitchell (1A) (MD 20-8)

220: Aaron Verduzco (Duchesne)
Wade French (Wildcard) won by fall over Aaron Verduzco (1A) (Fall 4:27)

285: Talon Gines (Altamont)
Brian Hoscheour (3A) won by fall over Talon Gines (1A) (Fall 2:19)

Sunday, February 16, 2014

Want to see more State Photos, Videos, and Info?

Check out our FACEBOOK page. Search Monticello Buckaroo Wrestling and like us on Facebook.

Buckaroos Claim 1A State Title

 Buckaroo Wrestlers claimed the 1A State Wrestling Title on Feb 15th. The Buckaroo's knocked of  defending champs Altamont. Beating them 205.0 to 180.5
 Lower Weights Outstanding Wrestler, Hunter Bowring (right) and Upper Weight Outstanding Wrestler, Cole Eldredge (left) stand with 1A Coach of the Year Kent Adair.

Academic Allstate Austin Wilcox (left) and Hunter Bowring (right)